Boyhood (2014) Review

Posted on Updated on

A Story of Life, Love and Discovering Yourself

Ellar Coltrane in Boyhood

So I will usually break up my reviews into parts instead of going into some long description of the film. I will try and dissect every thing one by one.

BOYHOOD, The movie itself: Boyhood is nothing short of a masterpiece, I will say it is the best movie I have seen all year even though this year is just getting started! Boyhood was filmed one week every year for 12 years and the idea was nothing short of brilliant. Richard Linklater said he wanted to create a movie about the stages of boyhood, but he did not want to use different actors to play the same character, so this film was film was filmed with the same cast for 12 years and was well worth the wait.

ACTING: The acting is amazing and landed Patricia Arquette a Golden Globe win for best supporting actress. (Congrats)

Ella Coltrane as Mason is absolutely amazing and so drawn into his character. I really felt like I was watching him grow up and I know I really was, but I mean when a part would come where he would be older I would think to myself “man I bet he is going through this and that and etc…”

Patricia Arquette as Mom was brilliant! I mean her performance in the movie was so fascinating to watch because it made you almost feel like you were with her and had you wondering what she would go through next.

Ethan Hawke as Dad was great! Ethan brought a energy to the character that made you love him and did the perfect portrayal of what a father should be. FWI (He also scored a Golden Globe nomination)

DIRECTION: Richard Linklater was nothing short of absolutely genius throughout the whole making of this film. Linklater was so accurate and delivering of the stages of boyhood and the critical moments that it has that defines you and makes you who are and Linklater just does a good job of portraying Masons journey and giving an epic of a story.

WRITING: Richard Linklater  also did the writing for this one and it is just as good as his direction, the script is full of humor, drama, and just good life moments that hit the heart. I smiled a lot, wanted to cry at times, and sometimes just could relate and feel what the other characters are feeling. (so yeah Linklater did great on the writing as well)

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Boyhood is not the most visual film and you can tell that is not what it relies on. When their were visual moments, I truly loved them and thought they were beautiful.

SUMMARY: Boyhood is a masterpiece that everyone should see before they die, it is a movie of life, family, love, and becoming yourself!

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10

Thanks for taking the time to read you guys and I hoped you enjoyed. Let me know what you thought in the comments and give me a follow. Be keeping an eye out for my next review.

4 thoughts on “Boyhood (2014) Review

    Tori said:
    January 12, 2015 at 1:45 pm

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    Paul S said:
    January 19, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    I already have Boyhood in my DVD collection yet whenever I think of watching it, a little voice tells me that I’m not ready for it yet… Maybe the expectations are way too high or I fear it won’t work out like it has for most people but I always end up choosing a different film over this one. Hopefully, I will get to it before the year is out. Great review;)

    Liked by 1 person

      thatmovieperson responded:
      January 25, 2015 at 2:55 am

      Paul thank you so much for your comment I have been so busy with school I have not checked my blog until now! You should absolutely watch boyhood man it is a great masterpiece. thanks for the feedback on the review, it really means a lot make sure to give me a follow on twitter @thatmovieperson and give my blog a follow! I am most definitely going to follow yours! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        Paul S said:
        January 25, 2015 at 3:20 pm

        Thanks for the welcome. I’ll keep an eye on your site.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment